Vuvuzela

After last night’s ordeal getting to my friend, Ryan’s house, today was a nice, relaxing day in Johannesburg. It was a day set aside for planning and logistics. It was kind of like a day off from shooting, but I still made pictures. Go figure. I was able to get real sleep, then we just kind of hung out, ran some errands and had a couple of great meals.

Locals celebrate South Africa's 1-0 win against Denmark in their World Cup warm-up.

Get used to seeing (and hearing) these things. Vuvuzelas are yard-length plastic horns synonymous with South African soccer. If you watch a game, you’ll notice a constant, monotone foghorn-esque sound droning in the background. That’s the Vuvuzela. They are everywhere. This is what it sounds like.

I met this fellow near Ryan’s house. Not much to say. Just like the photo. He’s a gardener just wrapping up work and preparing to head home.

And, finally, I’m not sure exactly what they’re trying to sell here, but maybe the phrasing could have been different?

Ryan and his wife Leyla are awesome hosts and they had friends over for dinner tonight, where they tried to learn the Diski Dance. I did not dance.

I was able to weather what I hope is all the jet lag I’m going to have. I’ve hear people say it takes about a day per time zone you cross. If that’s the case, I’m hosed.

3 responses

  1. Dawn

    Mark,

    The jet lag will REALLY hit you when you come home. I am loving following your adventures. Thanks to Trish for filling me in!

    June 6, 2010 at 7:18 am

  2. too bad you don’t dance… looks like fun!

    June 6, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  3. I love the photo of the gardener, it makes him seem happy and content in the warm evening light. I wish I could sit down with him, smoke a cigarette and chat for hours.

    June 6, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Leave a Reply

